Black Hills State University Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes for January 19, 2022

Attendance: Skott Chandler, David Berberick, Laura Colmenero-Chilberg, David Crawford, Susan Dana, Brian Eberhard, Katrina Jensen, Jarrett Moore, Parthasarathi Nag, and Nancy Roberts

Meeting called to order at 3:15 PM.

1. Approval of December 1, 2021, Minutes

a. Laura Colmenero-Chilberg moved to approve the minutes, seconded by David Berberick. Minutes were approved unanimously.

2. Provost Search Committee Information

a. Nancy Roberts shared information about the provost search.

3. Provost's Report

- a. Provost Carriveau Shared information countering internet article critical of BHSU. Article focused on cost of education at BHSU and potential salaries of graduates.
- b. BHSU did not receive rural secondary education grant.
- c. Filled open professional advisor position. Will hire one more professional advisor under Title III grant.
- d. Currently at 30,400+ student credit hours.
- e. Legislative issues coming up: transgender women in sports; transgender restroom bill; critical race theory (HB 1012; and no-action government classes.

4. Reimbursement

 a. Parthasarathi Nag shared information about challenges with pre-approval reimbursement policy associated with some research and other expenses.
Constraints are often related to legal requirements and purchase contracts with vendors that require specific actions, such as pre-approval for certain purchases.

5. Information on Low-Enrolled Classes

a. Nancy Roberts shared information and asked for discussion about low-enrolled classes and course cancellations. Discussed concerns about late cancellations and the impact on students and instructors. Discussed independent study courses as remedy to cancelled courses.

6. Make-up Policy in Syllabus

a. Recommended syllabus wording concerning make-up work is acceptable.

7. Other Business

a. Skott Chandler requested senate members to ask their departments for distinguished faculty nominations.

Skott Chandler made a motion to adjourn the meeting, seconded by Laura Colmenero-Chilberg. The meeting was adjourned at $4:10~\mathrm{PM}$.

Minutes recorded by Brian Eberhard